Best Fireproof Safe for Documents: Picks by Use, Ratings Explained

The best fireproof safe for documents is the one whose label matches what you keep in it. Here’s what the ratings mean for paper and for USB sticks, example safes for each job with the source of every rating, and what to do about fire bags, bolting down and British standards.

Key takeaways

  • For paper, look for UL 72 Class 350 with at least a 1-hour rating. Some popular file boxes are only rated for half an hour.
  • For USB sticks, memory cards and hard drives, you need a Class 125 data safe, or a media insert inside a rated safe. A paper rating lets the inside reach 177°C (350°F).
  • “Fireproof” printed on a box with no standard and no certifier named tells you nothing about how it was tested, or whether it was.
  • A fire bag isn’t a safe. Its best-known maker says no document bag will survive a significant structure fire.
  • In Britain the paper ratings are EN 15659 (LFS 30P, LFS 60P) and the heavier EN 1047-1; check that the certifier, usually ECB•S, is named.

The short answer

For paper, buy a safe or chest with a UL 72 Class 350 rating of at least one hour. For USB sticks, drives and film, you need a stricter Class 125 (or Class 150 for film) unit, or a media insert. And if the box only says “fireproof”, with no standard and no testing body named, treat it as untested.

Why an hour? In 1939 the US National Bureau of Standards burned out furnished rooms and found the fires equal to 29 to 45 minutes of the standard test fire at normal furniture loads.1 Modern rooms burn faster: in UL’s experiments, rooms with modern furnishings reached flashover in under five minutes.2 On those figures a half-hour rating leaves almost no margin. That’s our reading, not a finding of either body.

What you’re storingInside limit of the classUS rating to look forUK and Europe
Paper: deeds, passports, wills, certificates, cash350°F (177°C); paper chars at about 420°F (216°C)3UL Class 350, 1 hour or moreEN 15659 LFS 60P, EN 1047-1 S 60 P, NT Fire 017-60 Paper
Photos, negatives, film, tape150°F (66°C), humidity below 85%3UL Class 150EN 1047-1 D or DIS classes4
USB sticks, memory cards, hard drives125°F (52°C), humidity below 80%3UL Class 125, or a data insert in a rated safeEN 1047-1 DIS, or a maker’s data insert
Anything in a box marked only “fireproof”UnknownTreat as untestedTreat as untested

Fireproof safes for documents, by use

We haven’t handled or tested any of these safes; how we research modern safes explains why. They’re examples of each type with a published rating, not a ranking. UL’s Product iQ database refused our automated checks, so every rating below comes from the maker’s own spec sheet or product page, checked on 2 November 2026. Before you buy, look for the certifier’s label inside the door or lid, or ask the seller for the file number.

UseExampleFire rating, as publishedWater, impact, burglaryInside, paper fit, weightRating source
Small document chestSentrySafe F2300, key lockUL Classified, 1 hour at 1,700°F (927°C); class not statedETL Verified for water submersion; impact not listed12.9 x 9.5 x 5.1 in (0.36 cu ft); letter and A4 flat; 32 lbMaker’s technical sheet, 2 Nov 20265
Fire and water boxHoneywell 1104, key lockUL certified, 60 minutes up to 1,700°F; class not stated100 hours submerged to 1 m, “certified” (certifier not named); impact not stated14.8 x 12.0 x 3.8 in (0.39 cu ft); letter, A4 and legal flat; 54.3 lbMaker’s product page, 2 Nov 20266
Mid-size home safeSentrySafe SFW123GTC, keypad and keyUL Classified, 1 hour up to 1,700°FETL Verified, 8 in of water for 24 hours; no burglary rating stated13.8 x 12.6 x 11.9 in (1.23 cu ft); about 86 lb; maker’s price range $200 to $400Maker’s product page, 2 Nov 20267
Home safe with a burglary ratingAMSEC BF1716, dial lock as standardUL, 60 minutes at 1,700°FUL RSC Level I burglary rating; water not stated17 x 16.5 x 16 in; 412 lbMaker’s product page as archived 17 Jan 20268
Legal-size chestHoneywell 1108, key lockUL certified, 60 minutes up to 1,700°F; class not stated100 hours submerged to 1 m (certifier not named)10.2 x 15.0 x 12.0 in (1.06 cu ft); letter, A4 and legal hanging folders; 80.5 lbMaker’s product page, 2 Nov 20269
Legal-size file cabinetFireKing Patriot 2P1825, two drawersUL Class 350, 1 hour, with impactImpact tested; water not stated on the pageLegal files side to side, letter front to back; maker’s list price $2,108Maker’s product page, 2 Nov 202610
Fire bagSentrySafe FBWLZ0“Brief fire exposure”; no standard, temperature or timeWater resistant, not waterproof13 x 9 x 1.5 in; letter and A4 (legal only folded); price range $20 to $50Maker’s product page, 2 Nov 202611
Data safe for drivesPhoenix DataCare 2001, key lockClass 125, 1 hourImpact resistant for 30-foot drops; door seals against hoses and sprinklers9 1/2 x 6 1/4 x 7 3/4 in (0.26 cu ft); 108 lbMaker’s 2026 catalogue12

Chests and fire and water boxes

A chest is the cheapest way to a 1-hour rating. Both chests in the table are rated for an hour at 1,700°F, the furnace temperature a UL 1-hour test reaches.3 Check the hour, though. SentrySafe’s own sheets give its FHW40220 and H4100 file boxes, both made for letter-size hanging files, a fire test of half an hour at 1,550°F.13 On a shop shelf they look much like the 1-hour chests.

One thing a chest can’t do is stay put. A 32 lb box with a carry handle is easy to grab when you leave in a hurry, and just as easy for a burglar to carry out.

Home safes, with and without a burglary rating

A bigger fire safe gives you shelves, a better lock and something to bolt down, but a heavier safe isn’t automatically a longer-rated one. The 86 lb SentrySafe and the 412 lb AMSEC carry the same hour.78 What the weight buys at AMSEC is a UL Residential Security Container rating, a burglary test that no other safe in our table claims; our guide to safe burglary ratings explains what RSC means.

Legal paper is 14 inches long, which rules out many small chests. Honeywell’s 1108 takes letter, A4 and legal hanging folders.9 For an office, a fire-rated file cabinet is the grown-up version: FireKing’s Patriot range carries UL Class 350 for one hour with the impact test, and its 25-inch model takes legal files side to side.10 At that size it’s furniture you plan a room around.

What the ratings on a fireproof safe for documents mean

A fire rating is a time in a test furnace plus a temperature the inside mustn’t exceed. Under UL 72 the inside of a Class 350 unit has to stay below 350°F for the rated time, including the cooling period after the burners go off, because heat stored in the walls keeps flowing inwards.3 The full story, with the European and Japanese tests, is in safe fire ratings explained. For buying, four details matter.

The class

350, 150 or 125

The number is the inside limit in °F. Several makers’ pages give the hours and the furnace temperature but not the class, so read the label.65

The drop

Impact rating

UL’s impact test is optional: the hot safe is dropped 30 feet, “to simulate a fall from three stories”, then reheated.14 It’s printed as “with impact”.

The water

ETL and water claims

Intertek’s ETL Verified mark covers a specific performance claim.15 On safes it’s usually water, and the claims range from 8 inches for 24 hours to full submersion.75

The fourth detail is the one that matters most: who did the testing. “UL Classified” or “ETL Verified” names a testing body. Some pages don’t. Honeywell’s page for its 2609 safe says “2 Hour Verified fire protection” without saying who verified it, and its chests’ “certified” 100-hour water claim doesn’t name a certifier either.166 The label on the safe may say more than the web page. If it doesn’t, you’re relying on the maker’s word.

“Fireproof” itself isn’t a rating. When NBC Bay Area asked seven US safe distributors what it meant, it got five different answers, and UL told the station that safes passing its test should be called “fire resistant”.17 Our piece on whether fireproof safes are really fireproof looks at what survives real house fires.

Paper vs USB sticks and hard drives

Paper is the easy case. A Class 350 safe holds the inside below 350°F, and paper chars at about 420°F.3 It does that partly with steam: the insulation releases moisture into the safe as it heats, and during a fire the humidity inside a Class 350 unit can be “at or near 100%”, according to a US National Park Service guide that quotes UL 72.3 Paper shrugs that off. Plastics and electronics don’t.

That’s why data safes are a different class. Class 125 keeps the inside below 125°F (52°C) and 80% humidity.3 Phoenix’s US catalogue says products rated Class 125 are for “all types of computer media”, and that some paper safes carry a lighter MTC Grade B rating for CDs, DVDs, USB sticks and memory cards, which it describes as less sensitive to heat and humidity than tapes.12

Read the media claim carefully

SentrySafe’s page for the SFW123GTC lists USB drives, memory cards and external hard drives under “Digital Media Protection”, but gives no temperature or time for them; its rating is the UL 1-hour fire rating.7 Honeywell’s 1104 page also mentions “digital storage drives” without naming a class.6 Neither says Class 125. If the drive matters, look for that number, or EN 1047-1 DIS in Europe.

Even a Class 125 rating has a limit. UL 72, as quoted in 1993, doesn’t use computer media as test contents, because whether each kind survives “is not within the scope” of the standard.3 The class tells you the conditions inside, not that your particular drive will read afterwards. Compare it with the drive maker’s storage temperature, and keep a second copy somewhere else, such as an online backup.

The cheaper route is a media insert: a small data box that sits inside a rated safe. Phoenix’s Fire Commander Pro, for example, is rated for paper, and its maker lists data protection only “if FSDPI03 is used”, meaning its insert.18

Do fire bags work?

For a short, direct flame, the better ones can. For a house fire, the makers themselves say no. SentrySafe’s fibreglass bag is “tested to endure brief fire exposure”, names no standard, temperature or time, and comes with a plain warning: “no document bag will survive a significant structure fire”.11 The same page recommends using it inside a UL-classified fire safe.11

  • What a bag is good for: a grab bag of passports and papers you can take when you leave, and an extra layer inside a rated safe.
  • What the big number means: a bag “designed to withstand temperatures up to 2,000 degrees Fahrenheit” is describing the fabric, not how hot the papers inside get or for how long.19
  • What tests show: in Bob Vila’s propane-torch test the best bag kept its paper undamaged, while others shrivelled or split at the seams.19
  • Water: SentrySafe’s bag is water resistant, “not waterproof”.11

We couldn’t find a document bag with a UL 72 rating. Treat a bag as a grab bag with a lining, not as a safe.

Where to put it and how to bolt it down

A safe that one person can carry out of a burning house can be carried out by one person on an ordinary afternoon. Fire protection and theft protection pull in different directions, so think about both.

  • 1 Bolt it down. Most fire safes come drilled for it: Phoenix supplies floor bolts for concrete with the Titan, AMSEC provides an anchor bolt hole and hardware, and SentrySafe sells a bolt-down kit separately for its SF and SFW safes.2087 Chubbsafes advises anchoring to the floor or wall in a discreet spot, and names bedrooms, cupboards and utility rooms as common places.21
  • 2 Think about the floor. UL found that engineered floor joists in modern houses can collapse soon after firefighters arrive.2 If the safe is upstairs, the impact rating earns its keep.
  • 3 Use the maker’s fixing holes. A fire safe’s walls are double, with fire-resistant filling between them, so ask the maker before drilling anywhere else.20
  • 4 Tell your insurer. UK makers quote a cash and valuables figure for each model (for example £2,000 cash or £20,000 valuables for the Phoenix Titan), and Chubbsafes says insurers often ask for a certified burglary grade.2021 A fire rating doesn’t count towards that figure.
  • 5 After a fire, wait. A safe can hold intense heat for hours, and North Carolina’s Department of Insurance warns that opening it too early can make the contents burst into flames.22

Buying in the UK: EN 15659 and EN 1047-1

British and European safes use different tests. EN 15659 covers “light fire storage units” for paper, in two grades: LFS 30P and LFS 60P in the 2009 edition, LFS 30 and LFS 60 since 2019.23 EN 1047-1 is the heavier standard, with paper (P), data (D) and diskette (DIS) classes for 60 or 120 minutes and a fire shock and impact test.4 Some safes quote the Nordic NT Fire 017 instead, which has its own Paper, Data and Diskette classes.24 The certifier named on the British examples below is ECB•S, which certifies to all three.25

ExampleFire rating, as publishedBurglary and cash ratingInside, weightRating source
Phoenix Titan FS1282K (small home safe)60 minutes paper and digital media: NT Fire 017-60 and MTC DIP120-60DM; drop tested; certifier not named on the page£2,000 cash or £20,000 valuables (maker’s figure)320 x 260 x 305 mm (25 litres), A4 fits flat; 34 kgMaker’s product page, 2 Nov 202620
Chubbsafes Rhino MK II (home and office)EN 15659 LFS 60P, certified by ECB•SEN 14450 S2, certified by ECB•SFive sizes, 30 to 180 litresMaker’s product page, 2 Nov 202621
Phoenix Fire Commander Pro FS1921K (office, files)EN 15659 LFS 60P, ECB•S certified; data only with the FSDPI03 insertEN 14450 S2, ECB•S certified; £4,000 cash or £40,000 valuables1030 x 1110 x 390 mm (445 litres); 440 kgMaker’s product page, 2 Nov 202618

We noticed how much the wording varies even within one maker. Phoenix’s page for the Fire Ranger promises “30 minutes fire protection for paper records at 500°C” without naming a fire standard, while the Titan page names two.2620 Chubbsafes’ HomeSafe S2 30P is certified to LFS 30P, half the time of the Rhino.21 For papers you can’t replace, LFS 60P or EN 1047-1 is the closest British match to the 1-hour advice above, and you can check a model on the certifier’s own list.

How we got here: from Salamanders to “fire resistant”

Safe makers sold the word “fireproof” long before anyone measured it. In 1833 a double iron chest made by Charles J. Gayler of New York came through a fire in Thomaston, Maine, with its contents in good order, and an admiring writer called it a “Salamander”. Two years later New York’s great fire of December 1835 was harsher: of about sixty Gayler chests in the burnt district, only a few saved what was inside.27 Our history of inventing the fireproof safe follows the fillings and patents that came next.

Victorian makers sold on survival stories and staged trials. At the Great Exhibition of 1851, Scientific American reported that a Herring safe came out of forty hours of red heat with its contents unharmed.28 Contests turned personal. At the 1867 Paris Exhibition Silas Herring challenged any other exhibitor to open his safe. Samuel Chatwood took him up, each side’s workmen attacked the other’s safe, and the judges found for Herring, a verdict a Paris tribunal declared void the following year.2930 That Battle of the Safes was about crowbars, not flames, but Herring’s adverts put the “wager of 30,000 Francs” next to 140 firms who said their books and papers had come through the Chicago fire, as in this 1872 advertisement.31

Even then, the trade knew the word overstated things. George Hayter Chubb wrote in 1875 that “there cannot be such a thing as a burglar-proof or fire-proof safe”, and warned against tests not run by “persons quite disinterested”.32 Independent testing answered him, and today UL’s word for a safe that passes its furnace is “fire resistant”.17

A row of fire-blackened, tipped-over safes lined up on a cleared street, with burnt-out buildings behind, after the Great Chicago Fire of 1871
Burnt safes on Dearborn Street after the Great Chicago Fire, 1871. Photograph by Charles R. Clark. Newberry Library, public domain, via Wikimedia Commons.

Myths and facts

“Fireproof” on the box means it was tested.

Only a named standard and a named testing body tell you that. “Fireproof” has no agreed meaning.

A heavier safe protects papers for longer.

The rating decides that. A 54 lb chest and a 412 lb safe in our table both carry a 1-hour UL rating.

A safe that protects paper protects USB sticks too.

Class 350 allows 177°C and near-total humidity inside. Drives need Class 125, EN 1047-1 DIS or a data insert.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best fireproof safe for documents?

There isn’t one best model. For paper at home, choose a safe or chest with UL Class 350 for at least one hour (LFS 60P or EN 1047-1 in the UK), big enough for your papers, and bolt it down if it’s a safe. Add Class 125 protection if you keep drives.

Are fireproof safes waterproof?

Not unless they say so separately. Water claims vary from 8 inches of water for 24 hours to full submersion, and some don’t name who tested them. Look for a stated water rating and its certifier.

Do fireproof safes need maintenance?

A little. SentrySafe advises opening its airtight safes at least once a month and keeping a desiccant pack inside.33 The Japanese maker Naiki gives a fire safe’s service life as 20 years, and US makers have said a rating is lost after one fire.343 Honeywell offers a lifetime after-fire replacement guarantee on its chests.6

How long does a fireproof safe last in a fire?

For its rated time in a test furnace, cooling included under UL 72. A real fire can last longer, and a safe in the ruins can stay hot for hours, so don’t open it until it has cooled.22

Will a fireproof safe protect USB drives?

Only if it’s rated for them: UL Class 125, EN 1047-1 DIS, or a paper safe with a data insert. A paper-rated safe can reach 177°C inside.

Is a 30-minute fire safe enough for documents?

It leaves little margin. Furnished rooms burning out matched 29 to 45 minutes of the test fire in 1939 government tests, and modern rooms burn faster. An hour is the sensible minimum for papers you can’t replace.

Sources:
  1. S. Rodak and S. H. Ingberg, Full-Scale Residential Occupancy Fire Tests of 1939, NBS Report 9527 (National Bureau of Standards, 15 May 1967). ↩︎
  2. UL, New Science: Fire Safety Journal, issue 1, “Modern residential fires”, pp. 5–6, citing S. Kerber, “Analysis of Changing Residential Fire Dynamics and Its Implications on Firefighter Operational Timeframes”, Fire Technology (2011). ↩︎
  3. John E. Hunter, “Filing Cabinets and Safes for Protection of Paper Records, Computer Media, and Photographic Records from Fire Damage”, CRM vol. 16 no. 5, supplement (US National Park Service, 1993), quoting UL 72 and listing UL and SMNA label classes, via NPS History. ↩︎
  4. Estonian Centre for Standardisation, EVS-EN 1047-1:2019, “Secure storage units: Classification and methods of test for resistance to fire, Part 1: Data cabinets and diskette inserts”, scope. ↩︎
  5. Master Lock / SentrySafe, technical literature, model F2300 (UL Classified 1 hour fire, 1 hour at 1700°F/927°C; ETL Verified for water submersion; interior 12.9 x 9.5 x 5.1 in, 0.36 cu ft; 32 lb; letter and A4 lying flat; fire impact field blank). Checked 2 November 2026. ↩︎
  6. Honeywell Safes, “Large Fire & Water Security Chest, 0.39 cu ft (1104)” (UL Certified 60-minute fire protection up to 1700°F; “certified 100-hour waterproof protection up to 1 meter”, certifier not named; interior 3.78 x 14.80 x 12.01 in; 54.3 lb; lifetime after-fire replacement guarantee). Checked 2 November 2026. ↩︎
  7. SentrySafe, “Water and Fire Safe with Digital Keypad and Key”, model SFW123GTC (UL Classified 1 hour up to 1700°F/927°C; ETL Verified water resistance in up to 8 inches of water for up to 24 hours; digital media protection claimed without a separate rating; interior 13.8 x 12.6 x 11.9 in, 1.23 cu ft; about 85.7 lb; bolt-down kit sold separately; price range $200 to $400). Checked 2 November 2026. ↩︎
  8. American Security (AMSEC), “BF1716 Burglary and Fire Home Safe”, maker’s product page as archived on 17 January 2026 (UL fire rating 60 minutes at 1700°F; UL RSC Level I burglary rating; interior 17 x 16.5 x 16 in; 412 lb; one anchor bolt hole with hardware). The live page refused our automated check on 2 November 2026. ↩︎
  9. Honeywell Safes, “XL Fire & Water File Chest, Legal Size 1.06 cu ft (1108)” (UL Certified 60-minute fire protection up to 1700°F; 100-hour waterproof to 1 m, certifier not named; letter, A4 and legal hanging folders; interior 10.16 x 15.00 x 12.01 in; 80.5 lb). Checked 2 November 2026. ↩︎
  10. FireKing, “Patriot Series: 1-Hour Fire Rated Vertical File Cabinet” (UL Class 350 one hour fire rating with impact; 25 in model takes letter files front to back or legal files side to side; 2-drawer 25 in model 2P1825 listed at $2,108). Checked 2 November 2026. ↩︎
  11. SentrySafe, “Fiberglass Fire Resistant Bag for Documents”, model FBWLZ0 (“tested to endure brief fire exposure”; “no document bag will survive a significant structure fire”; use with a UL classified fire safe; not waterproof; interior 13 x 9 x 1.5 in; price range $20 to $50). Checked 2 November 2026. ↩︎
  12. Phoenix Safe International, 2026 Phoenix Safe Full Catalog (copy hosted by the retailer Filing.com): “Fire Test Standards” page (Class 350, Class 125, MTC Grade B) and DataCare 2000 Series page (model 2001: Class 125, 1 hour; interior 9 1/2 x 6 1/4 x 7 3/4 in; 0.26 cu ft; 108 lb; impact-resistant for 30-foot drops). Checked 2 November 2026. ↩︎
  13. Master Lock / SentrySafe, technical literature, model FHW40220 (fire test 1/2 hour at 1550°F, letter-size hanging files) and model H4100 (1/2 hour at 1550°F/843°C; ETL Verified for water submersion). Checked 2 November 2026. ↩︎
  14. UL Solutions, “Turning Up the Heat: A Sneak Peek into UL’s Fire Testing of Safes”, 1 December 2015. ↩︎
  15. Intertek, “ETL Verified” mark. ↩︎
  16. Honeywell Safes, “Digital Fire & Water Safe, 2.39 cu ft (2609)” (“2 Hour Verified fire protection in temperatures up to 1850°F/1010°C”; the page does not name who verified it). Checked 2 November 2026. ↩︎
  17. Chris Chmura and Joe Rojas, “‘Fireproof’ label on some safes may be misleading”, NBC Bay Area, 2 October 2018. Includes UL’s and ASTM’s statements on the word “fireproof”. ↩︎
  18. Phoenix Safe Co. (UK), “Phoenix Fire Commander Pro FS1921K” (EN 15659 LFS 60P, ECB•S certified; EN 14450 S2, ECB•S certified; cash £4,000 or valuables £40,000; data protection only with the FSDPI03 insert; internal 1030 x 1110 x 390 mm, 445 litres; 440 kg). Checked 2 November 2026. ↩︎
  19. Tom Scalisi, “We tested this fireproof document bag to see if it can take the heat”, Bob Vila, updated 12 March 2024. ↩︎
  20. Phoenix Safe Co. (UK), “Phoenix Titan FS1282K” (60 minutes for paper and digital media, “NT Fire 017-60 & MTC DIP120-60DM”; drop tested; “double walled steel body and door filled with multi layered fire resistant barrier material”; internal 320 x 260 x 305 mm, 25 litres; 34 kg; floor fixing bolts supplied; cash £2,000 or valuables £20,000). Checked 2 November 2026. ↩︎
  21. Chubbsafes (Gunnebo Safe Storage), “Home Safes” (Rhino MK II: EN 14450 S2 and EN 15659 LFS 60P, both certified by ECB•S, five sizes from 30 to 180 litres; HomeSafe S2 30P: EN 15659 LFS 30P; FAQ on installation and insurance). Checked 2 November 2026. ↩︎
  22. North Carolina Department of Insurance, “Immediately after the fire”, viewed 27 October 2026. ↩︎
  23. Standard Norge, NS-EN 15659:2019, “Secure storage units: Classification and methods of test for resistance to fire, Light fire storage units”, scope; and NS-EN 15659:2009 (classes LFS 30 P and LFS 60 P). ↩︎
  24. Nordtest, NT FIRE 017, “Filing cabinets, data cabinets and diskette cabinets: Fire resistance”, edition 3, approved September 2003 (full method as PDF). ↩︎
  25. European Certification Body GmbH, Annex A to certification guideline ECB•S C10, February 2025 (draft), list of fire resistance standards. ↩︎
  26. Phoenix Safe Co. (UK), “Phoenix Fire Ranger FS1511K” (“30 minutes fire protection for paper records at 500°C”, no fire standard named; EN 14450 S1). Checked 2 November 2026. ↩︎
  27. One Hundred Years’ Progress of the United States (Hartford, 1870), section on locks and safes, pp. 396–397, via Internet Archive. ↩︎
  28. Early Office Museum, “Antique office safes”, quoting Manufacturer and Builder (May 1878) and Scientific American (16 August 1851; 11 June 1853). ↩︎
  29. safeman.org.uk, “Battle of the Safes: safe-breaking contest, Paris Exhibition 1867”. ↩︎
  30. George Augustus Sala, The Battle of the Safes, or British Invincibles versus Yankee Ironclads (London: Tinsley, 1868), via Internet Archive. ↩︎
  31. Herring, Farrel & Sherman, advertisement “Chicago. Herring’s Safes”, The Atlanta Constitution, 14 June 1872, via Internet Archive. ↩︎
  32. George Hayter Chubb, Protection from Fire and Thieves (1875), chapter IV “Safes against fire”, via Project Gutenberg. ↩︎
  33. SentrySafe store, desiccant pack P50200, product description (advice on moisture in airtight safes), viewed 27 October 2026. ↩︎
  34. Naiki Corporation, catalogue page 408, “耐火金庫” (fire-resisting safes): JIS test methods and label guide (2023, in Japanese). ↩︎
Hos Logo
Greg

I work in IT and I'm a designer at heart. I write this blog because safes turned out to be a surprisingly big slice of history and pop culture. Every article here is checked against period catalogues, patents and trade directories, and my favourite story is still the Great Lock Controversy of 1851.

Articles: 130

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.